Contact Us | About Us | Volunteer | Local Links           
Past Events Archive

Past Events Archive
The Bicentennial Ball

The Bicentennial Ball was not only the social highlight of Jefferson's Bicentennial year but also the first of many exciting activities to celebrate the township's 200th anniversary.

Jefferson Township Councilman Brooke Hardy was the Master of Ceremonies, and Rev. David Muyskens led the Invocation whle Rev. Linda Prinz led the Benediction. Guests were formally attired or in period costume and enjoyed a delcious buffet dinner that replicated the cuisine of the time period. Entertainment during the cocktail hour included classical music performed by Tim and Judy Adriansen, choral selections by the Jefferson Township High School Men's Ensemble under the direction of James Wynne, and a dance performance of the Virginia Reel by the Morris County School of Dance and members of the Bicentennial Committee. The band Scoot on Down performed dance music and entertainment later in the evening.

Following a Bicentennial Toast by the Honorable Russell W. Felter, Mayor of Jefferson Township, proclamations/resolutions/and congratulatory letters from numerous New Jersey municipalities were read

The oldest living native-born residents were acknowledged as were the township's oldest families. Alma Moran (age 96) was recognized as the oldest living female native in Jefferson Township while Charles "Wesley" Ackerson (age 88) was named the oldest living male native. Wilhelmine "Minnie" Hammer (age 98) was recognized as the olest living non-native of the township while Herman Eck (age 95) was acknowledged as the oldest living non-native man.

Guest speakers included Congressman Rodney P. Frelinghuysen, Senator Anthony Bucco, and Freeholder John Inglesino.

The event's corporate sponsor was Courter, Kobert and Cohen, P.C. with support and donations from Gig the Florist, The Bicentennial Committee, The Jefferson House, Jefferson Highlights Community TV, Jefferson Girl Scouts North, Jefferson Girl Scouts South, and West Photo Imaging.

Special thanks to the Bicentennial Ball Committee chaired by Ada Felter and her members Laurie O'Shaughnessy, Frances Slayton, Richard Willis, Christine Wiliams, Rose Kelly, Jack Kelly, Richard West, Thomas Kieran, and Julie Mastricola.

Photos from the Event
Click images to enlarge

Photos on this page courtesy of Thomas H. Kieren, Custom Corporate Photography